Award Categories

  • Security Award supported by AusRegistry Supporter AusRegistry

    Initiatives that develop solutions to address security threats, provide a security-related service or product, or protect vulnerable groups online. These projects build trust and confidence in the online environment.

    Eligible initiatives include those that may:

    • Reduce online threats such as spam or viruses
    • Protect against cyber security attacks and cybercrime
    • Provide online authentication and identification

  • Diversity & Digital Skills Award

    Initiatives that help people get online or provide online education and training to improve digital skills, including the promotion of cultural diversity, multilingualism and indigenous cultures.

    Eligible initiatives include those that may:

    • Facilitate online access among socially or economically disadvantaged groups, for example, the elderly or disabled, or in rural or regional areas
    • Provide skills training and digital awareness to traditionally under-represented groups
    • Provide tools that assist in the translation of web content into other languages
    • Develop resources that document or celebrate distinct cultural histories or traditions
    • Encourage the utilisation of languages other than English online
    • Promote or serve a diversity of cultures

  • Information Award

    Initiatives that bring information, knowledge and materials online.

    Eligible initiatives include those that may:

    • Offer information online, otherwise difficult to access
    • Deliver educational content for general use
    • Educate users about online personal safety
    • Bring citizens closer to parliamentarians or Government

  • Innovation Award

    Initiatives that use Internet-related technologies in a new and unique way to make a significant contribution to the social outcomes of a particular group or sector.

    Eligible initiatives include those that may:

    • Have developed a new online product or service which is focused on delivering a social benefit
    • Deliver clear solutions for their sector
    • Develop and promote the uptake of new Internet-related technologies
    • Deliver users a new online experience, to address a community or public need

  • Tech Startup Award supported by Fishburners Supporter Fishburners

    Tech startup business initiatives that make an innovative contribution through a new and unique venture, product or service. For this award, a tech startup is defined as an organisation in search of a repeatable and scalable business model.

    Eligible initiatives include those that:

    • Started in Australia or New Zealand and are less than 3 years old
    • Have developed a stand out new business model or innovated an existing business model that promotes the uptake of new Internet-related technologies or markets
    • Are focused on pursuing a global market
    • Have technology at the centre of their business model
    • Have a product offering that can scale at a rapid rate

  • The Leonie Dunbar Memorial Award For Community Websites

    Community websites are those that are run by, and for, the local community in a geographic area in Australia or New Zealand (such as a suburb or town). They reflect community interests such as local business, tourism, historical information, culture, sporting groups, local events and news. These websites are run on a not-for-profit basis, acting as support for communities and the businesses within them.

    This award is in memory of Leonie Dunbar (1957-2013), who for eight years was the driving force behind auDA’s Community Geographic Domain Names (CGDNs) initiative:

    Eligible entrants must:

    • Run a not-for-profit community website for a local area in Australia or New Zealand
    • Demonstrate how their community website has made a positive contribution to the local area